Ananda Coomaraswamy Medal

Prof. H.M.T.G.A. Pitawala received Ananda Coomaraswamy Medal – 2017

The Ananda Coomaraswamy Memorial Oration was held on 22nd August 2018 at the Department of Geology, University of Peradeniya. The recipient Prof. H.M.T.G.A. Pitawala delivered a lecture on “Mineralogy, Petrography, Geochemistry and Economic Potential of Crystalline Limestones and Carbonatites of Sri Lanka”



Calling Nominations for 2017

The Executive Committee of the GSSL now calls for nominations for the award of the Ananda Coomaraswamy Medal for the year 2017.  The General membership is requested to send nominations on behalf of eligible geoscientists with the CV of the nominee to the Secretary- GSSL, on or before 30th September 2017.

The nominations should be forwarded along with the following information.

  1. Personal details of the Candidate.
  2. Educational and professional achievements in chronological order.
  3. Memberships of professional institutions (both local and international)
  4. Research publications published in Local / Foreign / International Scientific Journals on Sri Lankan Geology.
  5. Supervision of Research Projects / Academic Theses etc.
  6. Awards, Medals and other relevant honours received with the year of receipt.
  7. Relevant contributions to the national development, industry / trade
  8. Contribution towards educating, training and guiding geoscientists
  9. Reviewing / editing of relevant scientific articles / research publications / books etc.
  10. Contributions made towards the benefit of the community of the geoscientists.
  11. Any other relevant information, which the member who nominates feels useful in the process of evaluation.

It should be noted that the prime criterion of eligibility of a nominee is “CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE ADVANCEMENT OF GEOLOGY OF SRI LANKA”.   The above information could be used as a guide.

The member, who nominates a candidate, should obtain the requested information of his/her nominee and forward it to the Secretary, GSSL with an undertaking that, the information provided is true and correct.

The closing date for nominations is 30th September 2017.

Download Details

  Ananda Coomaraswamy Medal Winners and Titles of Their Orations

1987 Mr. L.J.D. Fernando Ananda Coomaraswamy as a Geologist.
1988 Prof. P.W. Vitanage Twenty Years of Dam-site and Tunnel Geology Investigations.
1989 Prof. P.G. Cooray The Geology of Sri Lanka- Problems and Perspectives.
1990 Mr. D.J.A.C Hapuarachchi Significance of cordierite in the Sri Lankan Precambrian.
1991 Prof. C.B. Dissanayake A decade of hydrogeological contributions to community development in Sri Lanka.
1992 Prof. K. Dahanayake Landslides of Sri Lanka and the Watawala Phenomenon.
1993 Dr. M.M.J.W. Herath Ninety Years of Geological Survey in Sri Lanka.
1994 Dr. R.L. Oliver The Charnockite Enigma
1995 Mr. L.K. Seneviratne Some Geological Contributions of the Past and Thoughts on Geological Activities for the future.
1996 Prof. Masaru Yoshida – Structural Characteristics of the Sri Lankan Precambrian and their bearing on the Tectonics of East Gondwana.
1997 Dr. A.R. Berger Geoindicators, Environmental Change and the Autonomy of Nature.
1998 Mr. A.D.N. Fernando Serendipity in Some of my Geological Findings in Sri Lanka using Aerospace Technology.
1999 Prof. Alfred Kroner Was there a Supercontinent before Gondwana?
2000 Prof. M.B. Katz Coomaraswamy, Adams and I.
2001 (Not Awarded)
2002 Mr. Dulip Jayawardhena
2003 (Not Awarded)
2004 (Not Awarded)
2005 (Not Awarded)
2006 (Not Awarded)
2007 Dr. N.P. Wijayananda Maritime Zones of Sri Lanka: New Frontiers in Petroleum Exploration
2008 (Not Awarded)
2009 Mr. D.P. Dias Geotechnical drilling in inland water bodies and off shore for national development projects
2010 (Not Awarded)
2011 (Not Awarded)
2012 Prof. Atula Senaratne Decoding the link between planetary configurations and earthquakes
2013 Mr. Nimal Ranasinghe Dr. Ananda Kentish Coomaraswamy () the World Renowned Legendary Geoscientist of Ceylon
Dr. W.K.B.N. Prame Physical, Geochemical, Magnetic and Geochronological Characteridtics of the Vijayan Complex:  Is it an Exotic Terrane?
2014 Mr. L.R.K.Perera Isochron Translation, Mantle Mapping and Sri Lankan Model Ages
2015 Prof. K.V.W.  Kehelpannala Post-Metamorphic K-Metasomatism of High-Grade Rocks: A New Concept in Geology
2016 Prof. Rohana Chandrajith From rocks to health: Pioneering contributions to an emerging field of Geoscience


Award of Ananda Coomaraswamy Medal 2016

The Ananda Coomaraswamy Memorial Oration was held on 22nd August 2017 at the Department of Geology, University of Peradeniya. The recipient Prof. Rohana Chandrajith delivered a lecture on ‘From rocks to health:Pioneering contributions to an emerging field of Geoscience’.



 Award of Ananda Coomaraswamy Medal 2015

The Ananda Coomaraswamy Memorial Oration was held on 22nd August 2016 at the Department of Geology, University of Peradeniya. The recipient Prof. K.V.W. Kehelpannala delivered a lecture on ‘Post-Metamorphic K-Metasomatism of High-Grade Rocks: A New Concept in Geology’



IMG_0395Congratulations4Click to see more images here….

Award of Ananda Coomaraswamy Medal 2014


Photos Taken at the Ananda Coomaraswamy Memorial Oration held on 22nd August 2015 at the Department of Geology, University of Peradeniya. The recipient Mr. L.R.K.Perera delivered a lecture on ‘Isochron Translation, Mantle mapping and Sri Lankan Model ages’. The Chief Guest was Prof. Upul B. Dissanayake, Vice Chancellor of University of Peradeniya.



Award of Ananda Coomaraswamy Medal 2013

Mr. Nimal S. Ranasinghe, former director of the Geological Survey Department of Sri Lanka and Dr. Bernard N. Prame, deputy director of the Geological ako1Survey & Mines Bureau received the Ananda Coomarswamy Medals for year 2013 and the  award ceremony and the memorial orations were held at the Disaster Management Center (DMC), Colombo.

Ananda Cooaraswamy was intensely engaged in research on the Geology of Sri Lanka and from 1903 to 1906 he was appointed the first Director of the Mineralogical Survey of Ceylon.


ak medal

Mr. Nimal Ratnasinghe

It is indeed a great honour for me to receive the prestigious Ananda Coomaraswamy Medal. This recognition gives tremendous joy. I have reacceived many kindnesses but this honour accorded to me is without parallel. I feel it is the endorsement by our Geology community for my contribution to it, over a span of 54 years, from 1959 to 2013. In receiving this award as the nineteenth co-recipient, I am greatly humbled and honoured to be one among them. I share it with all my colleagues who took a small part of their own journey with me.


Leave a Reply