P.G. Cooray Medal and Cash Award

To honour Prof. P.G. Cooray for his outstanding contribPG-cooray1ution to understanding of earth sciences, the Executive Committee of the Geological Society of Sri Lanka awards the “P.G. Cooray Medal” every year, with effect from 1995, to the most out
standing young earth scientist.  1





In addition, PG Cooray medal recipient is presented an annual cash award of Rs 50,000 ‘In memory of Gerald and Joan Cooray’, by their daughter and grandson, Shantini Ann and Jamie.

 Call for Applications 2017

Applications are invited from Sri Lankan geoscientists under the age of 35 years at the time of application, for the award of the P.G. Cooray Medal – 2017. The medal will be awarded to the most outstanding contributor in the field of Earth Sciences of Sri Lanka during the period from 1st January, 2016 to 31st December, 2016. Prospective applicants are requested to submit copies of their theses, dissertations, publications, patents etc. to the Secretary/GSSL.

The criteria for the award of the “P.G. Cooray Medal” are as follows:

  1. The applicant should be a citizen of Sri Lanka under 35 years of age at the time of application.
  1. Field : – Earth Sciences, (with the minimum of BSc or above)
  1. The Award will be given to the most outstanding contributor to Earth Sciences in Sri Lanka for the given year, judged on the basis of a thesis/ dissertation / publication, e.g., Outstanding BSc Thesis, MSc Thesis, MPhil Thesis, PhD Thesis, publication in a recognised journal(s) or a patent. If there is no suitable person in a particular year, the award will not be made that year.
  1. The outstanding thesis or publication could be based on work done in a foreign country or in Sri Lanka.
  1. The Medal will be awarded each year at the Annual General meeting of the GSSL.
  1. Applications for the award will be invited in September of each year and an announcement to this effect will be published in the newspapers.
  1. The Medal will not be given to the same person twice.
  1. If funds are available, a certain amount of money will accompany the award. This will be decided by the Executive Committee of the GSSL each year.
  1. The selection of the successful applicant will be decided by a Sub-committee appointed by the Executive committee of the GSSL each year. The decision of the sub-committee will be final.
  1. The art work of the medal will not be changed.

Download details

Recipients of the P.G. Cooray Medal

1995 G. W. A. Rohan Fernando

1996 A. L. T. Hewawasam

1997 A.G.S. R. Perera

1998 Deepani P.R. Weerakoon

1999 (Not awarded)

2000 H.M.T.G.A. Pitawala

2001 P.N. Ranasinghe

2002 N.W.B. Balasuriya

2003 S.U.P. Jinadasa

2004 (not awarded)

2005 Meththika Vithanage

2006 (Not awarded)

2007 Lalindra V. Ranaweera

2008 (Not awarded)

2009 Mayomi Kulasena

2010 (Not awarded)

2011 (Not awarded)

2012 (Not awarded)

2013 Dr. P.G. Mantilaka

2014 Dr. Nadeesha Madugalla

2015 Dr. Amila Sandaruwan Ratnayake

2016 Dr. P.L. Dharmapriya

Leave a Reply